If you have seen the above individuals or if you have any information regarding their whereabouts, please contact the New Hampshire Division of State Police.
The telephone number of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children is 1-800-THE-LOST.
- Learn how to enroll someone in MedicaAlert + Safe Return. MedicAlert® + Alzheimer's Association Safe Return® is a 24-hour nationwide emergency response service for individuals with Alzheimer's or a related dementia who wander or have a medical emergency.
- Learn more about the requirements for issuing an Amber Alert or Missing Vulnerable Adult.
- Read NH RSA 106-J - Missing Adult Program And Missing Vulnerable Adult Alert Program.
When a child is abducted, New Hampshire Law Enforcement work with: New Hampshire E-911, The New Hampshire Department of Transportation, The New Hampshire Lottery Commission and The New Hampshire Association of Broadcasters to get the message out across the state as quickly as possible. There are criteria that need to be met before an AMBER Alert is issued.
The State of New Hampshire AMBER ALERT Plan can only be activated through New Hampshire State Police Headquarters Communications and it requires law enforcement to meet three (3) criteria when evaluating a child abduction. Police departments must have all three (3) criteria present before an activation can occur.
The AMBER ALERT Plan can only be activated be when a confirmed abduction has taken place and the following criteria exist:
- The child 17 years of age or younger is abducted and
- Law Enforcement believes the circumstances surrounding the abduction indicate the child is in danger of serious bodily harm or death, either at the hands of another, or due to a proven mental or physical disability.
- There must be enough descriptive information about the child, abductor, and/or suspect’s vehicle to believe an immediate broadcast alert would help locate the child.
- Law Enforcement believes the child and/or abductor are likely to still be in the area.
The AMBER ALERT Plan is activated only when the specific requirements of the plan are met as outlined above.
- An AMBER ALERT activation is not to be used for runaways, most child custody disputes, or missing children.
- An AMBER ALERT activation is appropriate only for child abduction committed by a stranger, or by a parent if there is strong evidence that the parent intends to cause imminent bodily harm to the child.
After receiving a report of a child abduction, the investigating agency determines if the incident meets the requirements of The State of New Hampshire AMBER ALERT Plan. If it does, the agency contacts New Hampshire State Police Headquarters Communications to request activation of the AMBER ALERT Plan. New Hampshire State Police then activates the AMBER ALERT through the statewide Emergency Alert System.
When the New Hampshire State Police activates the AMBER ALERT through the state Emergency Alert System, it will immediately be delivered to all participating radio and television stations and cable TV systems in New Hampshire.
Missing Vulnerable Adult Alert
An alert for a MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT can only be sent to the designated media outlets by the New Hampshire State Police Headquarters Communications after it has been confirmed that a person meeting the criteria established in NH RSA 106-J:3 is missing.
After receiving a report of a MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT, the investigating agency determines if the incident meets the requirements of The State of New Hampshire MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT Plan. If it does, the agency contacts New Hampshire State Police Headquarters Communications to request activation of the MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT Plan. The New Hampshire State Police then activates the MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT ALERT.
The main difference between an AMBER ALERT and a MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT ALERT, is that a MISSING VULNERABLE ADULT ALERT does not involve the state’s Emergency Alert System (EAS) and is only disseminated to the designated media outlets.