News and Events
Join the NH Clique/ Click it or Ticket Joint Enforcement Patrols
Beginning May 24, through June 6, New Hampshire State Police – Troop C will be joining with Vermont State Police – Troop B, as State, County and local law enforcement across the nation step up seatbelt enforcement during a national “click-it or ticket” campaign.
Troopers will be taking a no excuses approach to seatbelt enforcement; however the purpose of this campaign is not to write tickets, but to encourage and promote seatbelt usage, which saves lives.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration:
- Among young adults 18 to 34 killed while riding in passenger vehicles in 2019, more than half (57%) were completely unrestrained — one of the highest percentages for all age groups.
- There seems to be a misconception among those who drive and ride in pickup trucks that their larger vehicles will protect them better than other vehicle types would in a crash. The numbers say otherwise: 58% of pickup truck occupants who were killed in 2019 were not buckled. That’s compared to 43% of passenger car occupants who were not wearing seat belts when they were killed. Regardless of vehicle type, seat belt use is the single most effective way to stay alive in a crash.
- Rural versus urban locations: People who live in rural areas might believe their crash exposure is lower, but in 2019, there were 11,971 passenger vehicle fatalities in rural locations, compared to 10,187 fatalities in urban locations. Out of those fatalities, 48% of those killed in the rural locations were not wearing their seat belts, compared to 45% in urban locations.
New Hampshire law requires anyone under the age of 18 who is driving or riding in a vehicle to be properly restrained. Children under age 7 must be property secured in an appropriate child restraint system. Drivers of vehicles with unrestrained or improperly restrained youth and/or children would receive a $62 fine for a first offense and $124 for a subsequent offense.