Skip to main content
scroll to top

Criminal History Record Requests

To obtain criminal history record information, you may do any of the following:

  • Apply in person: walk-in service is provided at the public counter at 33 Hazen Drive, Concord, Room 106A
  • Mail in an application (Notarization is not required)
  • A release to a third party (Notarization is not required.
  • Request your own "Confidential" (Full) record.
    • When mailing in this request – Notary Public or Justice of the Peace Signature, Date and Seal are required.
    • When requesting at the public counter – Valid photo ID is required
  • Download the Criminal Record Release Authorization Form

Criminal History Record Information Results

Effective immediately, results provided for a Criminal History Record request will be provided in the form of a "revised" New Hampshire State Police Criminal History Record Dissemination Document. The revision allows for consistency when disseminating records to applicants, and replaces our old process of stamping the release forms with "no record" or "record attached". The release forms will no longer be returned with the results of your requests.

If your request included fingerprints, FBI results will continue to be in the form of a red stamp indicating "FBI no record" or a letter indicating an FBI record. The red stamp will be located at the end of the NH result form.

This document is the first of multiple steps to automating our dissemination process. We are currently finalizing the details necessary to implement our online Portal. This Portal will allow applicants the ability to schedule appointments, request records, and make payments.

Payment

Cash, check, money order, MasterCard, Visa or Discover, in the exact amount of $25.00, payable to the State of NH – Criminal Records must accompany each NH request. **Credit cards are only accepted at the public counter, not with mailed in requests.

Reduced Fee Form Policy and Procedure

New Hampshire Administrative Rule Saf-C 5703.07 (c) authorizes volunteers for a public or private not-for-profit entity to be entitled to a reduced fee for a CHRI. The entity must meet all of the following criteria:

Administrative Rule Saf-C 5703:07 Fee Exemption allows a reduced fee of $10.00 per CHRI request if the requesting entity is a non-profit organization, the individual for whom the request is made is a volunteer, and that individual will be working with the elderly, the disabled, or children. All qualifying criteria must be met in order to grant the requesting entity reduced fee status for each volunteer. Both forms must be completed for each volunteer. The name of the volunteer must be noted, and which vulnerable category the volunteer will be working. The form must be signed by an individual authorized to attest the entity has met all required criteria for reduced fee status.

Payment

Cash, check, money order, MasterCard, Visa or Discover, in the exact amount of $10.00, payable to the State of NH – Criminal Records must accompany each NH request. **Credit cards are only accepted at the public counter, not with mailed in requests.

New Hampshire Required FBI Criminal History Record for Non-Criminal Justice Purposes

New Hampshire has several state laws that require both a NH and FBI CHRI record check. For a comprehensive list of those laws, please review Laws Regulating the Release of Criminal Records.  In accordance with these laws the FBI requires the applicant to submit their fingerprint impressions. Fingerprint images are captured by one of two methods: 1. by applying ink to the fingers and the impressions placed on a fingerprint card; or, 2. by digital capture via a LiveScan device. Capturing fingerprint impressions by LiveScan is the preferred method as it is the most accurate way to capture fingerprint impressions. The LiveScan will capture both fingerprint images and demographic information, and electronically transmit that data to the Criminal Records Unit for further processing.

All applicants requiring a NH/FBI CHRI will initiate the criminal background check process through their government agency (employer, school district, licensing board, etc.)

  • At their state agency, applicants will complete a NH CHRI request form, render the fee of $48.25 ($21.25 if volunteer), payable to NH State Police – Criminal Records, and receive either a fingerprint card or instructions on being fingerprinted by a LiveScan.
  • The applicant will make arrangements to be fingerprinted, and return either the inked fingerprint card, or the LiveScan form received from the LiveScan operator, to their state agency. Note: Applicants required to submit fingerprints for a search of the FBI database no longer need to have the state form notarized.
  • The state agency will submit, as one package, the NH CHRI form, the fee payment, and either the inked fingerprint card or LiveScan form to the State Police Criminal Records Unit.
  • The Criminal Records Unit will process both the NH and FBI CHRI and return the results to the applicant's state agency.
schedule a fingerprint appointment

Scheduling Fingerprint Appointment

If you need to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting and you are responsible for payment, please click on the Fingerprint Icon to schedule your appointment, make payment and receive information.

If you need to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting and the agency is responsible for payment, please call: (603) 223-3867 to schedule your appointment.

Please arrive 10 minutes prior to your scheduled time and expect the process to take approximately 15 minutes. A 24-hour notice is requested for all cancellations.

LiveScan (Fingerprinting) Site Locations

The Division of State Police maintains seven applicant LiveScan sites. *Appointments are required, no walk-ins will be accepted.

The locations and addresses are:

  • Concord - Department of Safety Building, 33 Hazen Drive - First Floor, Room 106A
    • Hours of Operation:
      • Fingerprinting: Monday – Friday 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
      • Public Counter: Monday - Friday 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
  • Manchester - DMV Substation, 377 South Willow Street
  • Twin Mountain - State Police Barracks Troop F, 549 Route 302
  • Dover Point - DMV Substation 50 Boston Harbor Road (off Route 4)
    • Hours of Operation:
      • Monday – Friday 8:30 a.m. to 3:45 p.m.
  • Keene - State Police Barracks Troop C, 15 Ash Brook Court
  • Tamworth - State Police Barracks Troop E, 1864 Route 16
  • Salem - DMV Substation, 154 Main Street
    • Hours of Operation:
      • Monday – Wednesday, Friday 8:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
      • Thursday 8:45 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Required Documents

Valid photo identification (driver's license; non-driver's license; passport).

Whether the applicant fingerprints are captured by ink or LiveScan, it is imperative that the correct New Hampshire statutory cite (RSA) is noted that authorizes access to the FBI record database for that applicant.

State agencies Requiring both a NH and FBI CHRI Check

Banking Department

  • Credit Unions
  • Loans, Debts, Sales
  • Banking Department Employees

Department of Health and Human Services

  • License Exempt Child Care
  • TANF Child Care
  • Adoptive Parents
  • Child Day Care & Institutions
  • New Foster Parents
  • Therapeutic Cannabis Program
  • NH Medicaid Program

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

  • Board of Nursing
  • Board of Medicine
  • Alcohol and Drug Use Professionals
  • Real Estate Appraisers
  • Medical Technicians
  • Nursing Home Administrators
  • Psychologists
  • Allied Health Professionals
    • Athletic Trainers
    • Genetic Counselors
    • Occupational Therapists
    • Physical Therapists
    • Recreational Therapists
    • Respiratory Care Specialists
    • Speech-Language Therapists
  • Board of Dental Examiners
  • Naturopathic Health Care
  • Board of Mental Health
  • IRS Publication 1075

Lottery Commission and Charitable Gaming Commission

  • Licensing of Game Operators
  • Games of Chance Facility License

New Hampshire Department of Revenue

Department of Safety

  • Driver's Education Instructors – Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Employees – Division/Bureau specific
  • Emergency Medical Service Provider Licensing – Bureau of Emergency Medical Services

Municipal Employees/Volunteers

Forms and Instructions Provided by the Specific Municipality.

Hawker & Peddlers License

Forms and Instructions Provided by the Specific Municipality.

County Employees

Forms and Instructions Provided by Specific County.

Serve America Act Volunteers

Forms and Instructions Provided by Specific Employer.

Consumer reporting Agencies

Forms and Instructions Provided by Specific Employer.